For Thanksgiving dinner, we chose to have a ham instead of turkey. Judging from the long line at the local honey-baked ham store, I know I’m not the only family who likes both ham and turkey! That ham store is amazing and crowded with other ham lovers over the holidays. I think we Oreganos might prefer ham, so we got a big mama. After a few days though, we still had leftover ham and mashed potatoes, so I decided to make a soup. There were a few spoonfuls of mashed potatoes along with a few potatoes, plus those magic veggies that turn every soup into Food Love…amen to the onion, the celery and the carrots. You all are beautiful in the pot. You make the house smell fab and our bellies feel warm. Yummm.

Back to dinner prep. I have never made a ham soup, so I did what every modern-day SAHM does (right?) and Googled ham soup. I was thinking ham and bean soup, but then I stumbled onto a recipe for a yummy combo of ham, potato and cheddar soup. Even better. Even faster, since I have all those ingredients on hand. I added and subtracted a few things to make it my own. My DH declared it the best soup he has ever had. Give it a try with your ham leftovers. My recipe is below. Bon Appetit!

Creamy Potato and Ham Soup – serves 4

1 – 2 T oil
1 C celery, chopped
1 C onion, chopped
3/4 carrots, chopped
1/2 t thyme
1 t parsley
1/2 t sage
3 T mashed potatoes from your leftovers
2 cups chicken broth
1 1/2 C milk
1 potato, peeled and chopped into bite-sized pieces

In large saucepan, heat on medium oil, celery, onion, carrots, thyme, parsley, sage. Saute on medium for 5 minutes.
Stir in mashed potatoes leftovers and cook for 2 more minutes.
Whisk in chicken broth and milk, stirring constantly to bring to a gentle boil.
Reduce heat. Add potatoes to pot and simmer 20 minutes.

Just before serving, add 1/2 C ham and serve hot.
Optional: Add 1/2 C cheddar cheese, 1 t fresh chives.

