I love my new oven. Maybe one day I’ll write a love note to it. A sonnet maybe. But, in our short time together, we’ve had our share of ups and downs. Firstly, I am very old school in many ways, so I’m years, possibly decades, behind the introduction to convection cooking. The new oven, while basic and old-school, has convection cooking. The key to this type of cooking, which circulates air for even cooking, baking and browning is to lower the temperature by about 50 degrees. Secondly, I make my fair share of mistakes. Thirdly, did I mention I am new to convection? Yes, well, I am still new to this. Oh, forgive me, Jewish Apple Cake! I flipped the convection switch, but forgot to lower the heat. Consequently, I baked my apple cake to within an inch of its life. Oh, it looked deceivingly lovely and golden brown. However, as it cooled, it revealed its ruination–underneath its golden crisp crust was more crust, covering a dried, dusty cake.

I couldn’t serve this to my family — I wouldn’t even eat it. I was ready to toss this hideous pan of deception. But tossing out food goes against my old-school nature. And one of my favorite sayings is Sometimes You Have to Make Lemonade Out of Lemons. There had to be something I could do to remedy this mistake. Maybe frosting or icing. Or, a glaze!

Then I remembered my post about fluffy pancakes using buttermilk. Remember?
[Buttermilk: 1 tablespoon of white vinegar in 1 cup measuring cup + filled rest of way with milk + wait 5 minutes = buttermilk]

True to my old-school modern-day SAHM self, I quickly Googled buttermilk glaze and found an easy recipe, which I adapted for my cake. I saved the day (and the cake was deeeee-lish)! Here are my recipes for Jewish Apple Cake and the Buttermilk Sauce:

Jewish Apple Cake

5 apples (I used Fiji or Gala)
2 T cinnamon
1/8 C sugar
3 C flour
1/2 t salt
2 1/4 C sugar
1 T baking powder
1 C oil
4 eggs
2 t vanilla
7 T orange juice or pineapple juice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour bundt cake pan. Peel, core and slice apples into 1/8″ wedges. In medium-sized bowl, toss with first 2 ingredients and set aside. In large bowl, mix remaining ingredients together just till combined. Do not overmix. Pour 1/2 of the batter into the prepared bundt pan. Drop in 3/4 of the apple mix. Pour in rest of batter. Place remaining apples and liquid around the top. Bake 1 hour. Test by inserting a cake tester or thin in the deepest part of the cake. Cake is baked when there aren’t any crumbs on the tester.

Do not overbake. But, if you do, top with this buttermilk sauce.

Buttermilk Glaze – drizzle over whole cake or each individual slice
2/3 C buttermilk, prepared as directed
1/2 C sugar
1/2 t vanilla
1/4 t baking soda
3 T cornstarch
In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine buttermilk and remaining ingredients. While stirring continuously, bring to a boil. Boil one minute, then remove from heat. Serve drizzled over cake or individual slices.

More about Jewish Apple Cake To be kosher, and this is totally from my memory and not based on religious research in any way, you do not mix certain ingredients. That’s why Jewish Apple Cake includes oil and juice, not butter or milk. I include the buttermilk sauce in this posting to save my family from choking on dried crumbs…take it or leave it, but if you are Jewish, disregard buttermilk sauce if needed and simply don’t overbake.

This recipe for Jewish Apple Cake was always made by my mother when I was a child. I’m pretty sure I asked for this cake for my birthday, which is in August. It is That. Wonderful. Thanks, Mom, for spending hours sweltering in the summer heat to create this cake. And, you never overbaked. But if you had, maybe we could have topped it with a buttermilk glaze.

