Yesterday, I got an email from my daughter’s teacher. This is an unusual event. since we have agreed that we are sailing smooth waters, and unless we hear otherwise, things are great at home and at school. This email, however, said that my daughter lethargic, unenthusiastic, off her normal work habits, and simply wasn’t her best self. I thanked the teacher and signed off wanting to know more. So, when my dear daughter got home from school and had her snack, I asked her what was going on at school. She was upset that I received the note from her teacher, and along with a few tears and a bit of confusion, her response was, “but I thought slow and steady wins the race.” Hmmm. I didn’t think anyone would ever claim she was like either of the characters in The Tortoise and The Hare. Usually, she cheerfully and efficiently works to finish her schoolwork. Now she has taken it to heart that she will not be like the hare in the fable, rushing through and not giving her best work or best effort. So we talked that it’s good to be slow and steady. And then we added efficient and confident, especially when we know the work ahead of us. Granted, these are big concepts for kids under the age of ten. Kids (and adults!) are a work in progress.

In real life, there are so many more character choices than the two extremes in the fable. *sigh* I need to reread the story and see how this can apply to her in school and at home. I think I’ve got some homework of my own.

But it leaves me wondering about the dogged tortoise in today’s all-hare-like world: Is slow and steady really best? 

