Love
Is a gift
You can give it away freely
You don’t ask for it back
You don’t expect it to be returned
You can give as much or as little as you have.
It is deep and bottomless
Yet
You can carry it with you.
Love can be a smile, a hug, a kiss
A gentle rub, a smoothing of hair, the gentle brush of two fingers on a cheek
A bouquet of roses, a mud-pie, perhaps a cup of watery lemonade.
Sometimes
A phone call, a text, a letter, and the words I Love You
Never get old.
Though
On tough days, the gift of love is fleeting
Other days, the gift of love is overwhelming.
Save those free-flowing days in your memories
Savor the feeling
Those loving memories will carry you on the dark days.
And
On the darkest of dark days, remember:
Love is a gift.

 

To my newest friend, DB: Thank you for sticking with me and finding my words. I was giving up; but, you stuck with the search, even though it wasn’t your job to find my stuff, even when I was resolved to the loss. Truly, it means more than you know. Thank you!

