image

Experiment: Baked Glazed Donut 

image

All tins got aluminum foil canisters. Some of the tins got aluminum foil balls and some got marbles. Marbles work best.

image

A goofy sight. One of the canisters fell out completely–the most muffin-y baked donut of all.

image

Donut? Muffin? Research concludes yes to both.

Well, the judges have ruled in favor of the baked donut. “Looks like a glazed donut. From the top.” “Tastes and smells like a glazed donut. Feels like a muffin, has the texture of a muffin.” “I like the cinnamon.” (Umm, that would be nutmeg.) “Are there more?” “Hey, where are the donuts?”

So. I think it was worth trying this recipe, even though I didn’t love the recipe or the way it turned out. If I were to make these again, here are some ways to improve it:

– use less dough per donut, as the dough rises to muffin height

– make tiny aluminum canisters and insert marbles or pie weights into them to keep the holes from closing during baking. Foild balls were too light-weight, so half of the foil cans were baked in about halfway

– if holes close (all of these did, to varying degrees), gently cut open with a paring knife

– make more baked donuts. Or, just buy a good bakery donut instead. I think this was mediocre, but I’m glad I tried it.

Thought for the day: Keep on keeping on. 

Thank you for reading. Have other people loved your self-declared cooking fail? I’d love to hear about it. Send me a comment. Thanks!

